Sorry I’ve been away for so long!

I want to let you all know that I have made many changes in my life in the last two months.

First:

I have been 7 weeks without smoking!!!  That is such a major accomplishment for me.  I have tried for YEARS to quit smoking.  I am really gonna do it this time.  I have to for me.

Second:

My sister and I are exercising.  Everyday…OMG.  I was really sore at first but it is getting better.  Of course there are things I can’t do (yet) but I will get there.  Along with the exercising, we are dieting.  In one week I have lost a total of 13.5 inches!  Now that is from the neck down!!!  I need to lose 40 pounds, so far it’s 6!  Of course I really don’t care as much about the pounds, it’s the inches that keep you from getting into those jeans!!!

Third:

I have not been able to work since 2005.  I have had so many surgeries.  As a matter of fact, I have surgery on my shoulder on the 9th of April.  I have something going on with my body that doesn’t want to allow my joints to keep the fluids causing me to have bone spurs and terrible pain.  I have had two back surgeries, two hip, jaw, pacemaker and now this shoulder but you know what??? It is all okay.  I am going to beat this mess and get myself back to work (unless my miracle-working editor can get help get me published.  wink, wink Marvin!)

Anyway, I am not as bad off as some.  I have a wonderful family, two great sons, two beautiful daughter-in-laws, and three terrific grandchildren.  Best of all, my husband.  He has put up with more than most people ever would in their life time.  He is so supportive of me with anything I do.  I really got a great catch.  (Don’t get me wrong, he ain’t perfect!!! hehe)

My sisters and brother, sister-in-laws, brother-in-laws and let me tell you, the greatest mother-in-law.  This doesn’t include the aunts, cousins, uncles etc.  I am just grateful for everybody.  Included in these people are the ones who have gone on ahead of us to be with God.  There are so many, I love them all.

Oh, where was I??  Sorry, I tend to ramble sometimes but my point is:

Nobody is going to change you but YOU.  Nobody can cause you to be miserable but YOU.  Nobody can put you in a bad mood but YOU.  Nobody can fix you but YOU!

Spring is coming.  Get up off your behinds and do something.  Walk, visit someone in a nursing home, make someone a blanket, do something.  We all say we don’t feel like we did at 20.  Well, we were not sitting on our butts, watching tv, playing on the computer or taking a nap.  We were DOING things.

Say “hello” to everyone you pass.  Pick up the item for someone that has their hands full.  Open the door and hold it for someone else to enter before you.

And most of all………………….HAVE A WONDERFULLY BLESSED DAY!!!!

8 thoughts on “Sorry I’ve been away for so long!

  1. So true Terri.

    Great post and great reminder. I am so excited to see Spring just around the corner, I don’t know what to do with myself.

    Think I’ll go for a run.

  2. “Nobody is going to change you but YOU. Nobody can cause you to be miserable but YOU. Nobody can put you in a bad mood but YOU. Nobody can fix you but YOU!”

    Right on, sistah … now THAT’s empowerment talking!

    Kudos on the quit smoking and exercising things, too. Good for you. 🙂

    The Old Silly

    • Thanks Marvin, I really appreciate knowing your around for support. You don’t know how much that means to me. I didn’t know how a support system really could make a difference but I have truly been finding out here lately!!
      Talk with ya soon brotha~

  3. That’s a whole lotta surgeries. Nothing like blogging to get you back in the swing of things. I had a procedure this morning that took up the past eight hours. All I could think about was getting back to my blog and visiting other blogs. Weird, I know.

    Stephen Tremp

    • I hope all is well.
      I know what you mean! I feel like I will have a panic attack if I can’t get online. Now you know that’s bad!!! Glad you visited my blog!

  4. Terri,
    I’m sending you a million sugar-free, fiber-filled wonderful tasting cyber chocolates for writing this post! It’s so nice to hear from someone who is happy with where they are and with what they have in life.
    I read a quote years ago, never could remember it, but the condensed version, and the version I live by, goes like this: “Contentedness is the greatest of all riches.”
    Thanks for sharing this wonderfully motivating post. 🙂

    P.S. I do have to agree with you on one thing. I’m pretty sure I snagged the greatest mother-in-law!

Leave a Reply

