Thursday’s tribulations

You know, I am certainly glad that Obama thinks the economy is improving.  It may be as the stock market numbers, the big businesses (working with other countries!), and the government but for the everyday Joe…….not so much so.

I have talked with more people here in the last few days that are living from hand to mouth.  Because of the economy they are living with only one income (which isn’t much), trying to pay rent or house payments, electric, heat, water bills, and of course – food!  Who cares about eating???  They say we are all over weight so I guess we don’t need to eat! hehehe

Seriously, I really don’t know what the answers are but darn…we need to help the everyday working class people.  The “stimulus” money is great but who can afford to buy a house right now???  The ones who do own their homes are now living in a property that isn’t worth what they paid for it.  Come on folks. 

I don’t have any problem at all with the people who have worked all their lives and are now sitting comfy.  They deserve it!  Problem is, they were able to survive with their retirement and SSI before all this crap happened.  Now, who knows if they will be able to enjoy their “golden years”. 

Another problem I have…The folks who, married for years and years, retired so they could enjoy the rest of their lives together…they get a small retirement and SSI.  Then one of them pass away.  Now, instead of getting both retirements and both SSI checks, the survivor only gets one retirement check and one SSI check.  Now remember, they were living with two incomes and just able to pay the utilities, medicines, doctor, insurance and fuel bills…now there is only one income!  Do you think the bills decreased????  Maybe a few prescription bills decreased but everything else pretty much stays the same. 

How in the Hell do they manage now?????

Let’s not forget the single parents.  They are working and trying to keep their heads above water.  Trying to keep the kids in school and happy…with one income!  It really is a problem.  I don’t know what the answers are but something needs to happen. 

I just thought I’d put all this out there!  I know we all know it already but I needed to vent… Sorry!!!  If anyone has an answer, let me know… I’d be glad to post it.  I want to get something started anyway!!!!  I’ll write every govenment office there is.  We need to get the economy going.  I don’t know how but I’m ready to try anything!!!

Thanks for listening to me…

2 thoughts on “Thursday’s tribulations

  1. Hey Terri,

    Love your new website!

    I have some answers to how to get America going again, but keep in mind I’m no economist, financial wizard or anything remotely close…I’m just a regular joe…er..joan?

    Anyway, one of the things that could possibly help might be to promote buying American. Maybe give businesses some kind of tax break or incentive for NOT outsourcing jobs…between the two, that could help with a lot of job creation. Find a way to get the banks lending again. I have no issue with the ability to receive credit being stricter…in fact, it never should have gotten so lax and I’m all for regulation in the banking and financial sector…but we also have to find a way to get banks to start lending again.

    Anyway, just my 2 cents…

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Another thing business need to STOP doing is:
    WHEN CHECKING CREDIT REPORTS BEFORE HIRING SOMEONE, REMEMBER, THEY ARE LOOKING FOR A JOB MOSTLY BECAUSE THEY DON’T HAVE ONE!!!
    THEY MAY HAVE LATE PAYMENTS ON MEDICAL BILLS OR BANKRUPTIES, OR OTHER UNATTRACTIVE CREDIT… THAT DOES NOT MEAN THEY WOULD BE A BAD EMPLOYEE!!!

    COME ON FOLKS, GIVE THE EVERYDAY JOE (JOAN) A BREAK!

Leave a Reply

