Friday! The weekend is just about here.

Boy has this been a week for me!  My nephew graduated from high school last night.  It was wonderful and hard all at the same time.  You see, it was the 8th anniversary of my mother’s passing.  I know she was with us.  I took her clutch!  She loved all her children, grandchildren, and the great-grandchildren.  Russ was the last grandchild so of course he was spoiled by her.  We all felt her presence tho.

Now, for the good news…Finally, 12 years of ups and downs for my sister is over.  This was her last baby to finish school.  After two girls, this was so different for her with a boy.  I have two boys so I understood some of the trials and tribulations!  Russ is a fine young man and will do wonderful with his life.  I am so very proud of him.

There were so many people there last night and the ceremony was long.  It was very good tho.  Nice speeches.  Everyone behaved themselves!!!! 

I have 5 more years before I will be attending another graduation…my first grandson!  Then 8 years for the second and 12 for the last one.  If I make it that long!!!!

I want to say congratulations to all of the young adults of 2010.  Make sure you chose the “right” path in life.  These next few years will be hard, whether you go one to college, the service, or straight to a career.  Just keep on keeping on.  Don’t let this be the end.  There is so much more in life.  Do your best and reach for the sky.  You can do it, if you choose to.

I pray for all of you, each and everyday.  It won’t be easy, nothing worth having is.  Just don’t say “CAN’T”.  Do it.  Don’t quit.

Good luck to all,

Terri

9 thoughts on “Friday! The weekend is just about here.

  1. My heart aches for you in your loss but I rejoice with you in the graduation of Rusty.

    I believe the media encourages our young people to believe this is the best time of their life. That it doesn’t get any better than this very moment. That is so untrue as long as they make positive choices and move in the right direction.

    I join you in your prayers for their future.

    • You are so right! I hope the kids don’t stop and think this is the best there is! So much more to their lives.
      Thank you so much for your comment.

  2. Congrats to Russ. Does he know what he wants to do yet?

    My son graduated in 2005, but my girls are a long way off from that. I’m glad to have them home for many years yet. I guess now that my son just got married, I’m feeling a bit sentimental.

    Cheryl

    • He is wanting to go into the Marines. He will have to wait due to going in on the buddy system but they will do it!

      Both my sons are married, I have the three grandchildren but Russ is like another son to me!

  3. I love the wisdom in the last paragraph…many many more young adults need to hear it and internalize it. There’s much that most need to overcome, battles of the mind and of the world that come at us everyday. You’re so right on, it’s just the beginning, not the end. Yet I think everyone needs to hear the voice of encouragement, support, someone to believe in them. It’s wonderful you’re one of those voices to your nephew!

    • Thank you for the kind words Jinnia. I just spit it out the way I see it!!! I have contacted the tv station asking why? Why aren’t the graduations shown on the news??? They are going to do a piece tomorrow night! they claim there are too many to cover them all. So they chose not to cover any! I don’t think it’s fair. Our young people have just finished a milestone in their lives. Give them credit!

Leave a Reply

