Fabulous Friday!

I have lots to tell you all today!

First, let me tell you a little about myself.  For those of you who know me, sorry, I don’t mean to tell you things you already know!  For those of you that don’t, well, you will!

I am 52 years old.  I waited until my boys (step-son is 36, my son is 31), were out of school before I decided to go back to school myself.  I started out with accounting and had just about completed the two-year program when a voice told me I really didn’t want to do this.  I actually stopped and turned around because I knew someone was behind me!  When I realized there was no one there, I turned and went back to the living room to sit down.  Again, the voice told me to stop this mess and do what I always wanted to do, go to nursing school.

Needless to say, I knew who that voice was.  I also knew I was going to listen.  When my husband came home that night from work, I told him what had happened.  He looked at me like I had two heads, shook his head and told me I had to do what I had to do.

In 2000, I graduated with my LPN and went to work.  In 2001, I received my RN.  I was just about as happy as a pig in slop!  I couldn’t believe it.  At my age, late 40’s, working at something I enjoyed as much as anything, working in the operating room.

Then, the worse thing happened.  I hurt my back, badly.  After suffering for years with back trouble, I knew this time was bad and it was.  One of the surgeons I worked with did tests, had me do therapy and just about everything you can think of but to no avail.  I was going to have surgery.

So, after two weeks in bed, flat of my back, I had my first back surgery.  That was in 2005.  Just one year later I had to have surgery on my back again.  This time I had to have rods placed down my entire lumbar spine.  I was told I wouldn’t be able to work as a nurse again.  My bubble busted.  I was devastated.  What was I going to do now?  Since that time I have had jaw surgery, two shoulder surgeries, two hip surgeries and a pace maker placed.  I thought the devil was after me but I refused to give in, he was not going to win with me!

Then, just like before, the voice returned.  “Terri, it’s time to go back to your childhood dream, write.”  Again, I looked to see if my husband was behind me.  Nope.  It was the voice I heard years before.  Like the first miracle, a friend of mine, one I hadn’t talked to in years reappeared in my life.  I told her what had happened and she told me she too was writing.  She had written one book and working on others.  Katrina volunteered to help me.  She got me on the path and kept me there.

I am not a published author as of yet.  It will happen, I will see to it!

Now, for the second part of this!

Katrina and I are working on many things together.  She has started “Kat Logic Book Club”.  We will be having online classes for authors in all stages!  (Including ones like me that haven’t had anything published just yet!)  We are very excited about this venture and know you will all enjoy it as well.  Join katlogicbookclubs, come see how much fun we are having.  There are so many people posting such great information, so very helpful to writers new and old.

So, there you have it folks!  A small window in the life of Terri!  I will post other little tidbits in days to follow!

3 thoughts on “Fabulous Friday!

    • Thanks so much Jinnia for the comments!!! I know, isn’t it something! I just can’t believe how things do come back around. That’s why I say all the time that things happen for a reason! We may not know why but sooner or later we will be led to the answers!

Leave a Reply

