Continuing…Just who is Terri???

Okay, now that you have read all about the last five years (almost 6) of my life, let me tell you more about how things work out the way they should.  I tell you, the Lord works in mysterious ways.  I’m living proof!

So, as I told you, I became a Registered Nurse.  Because of my training, I have been able to take care of our parents.

While my parents were on vacation in Florida, my father called me and said they were cutting their trip short.  (They would go to Florida in January and stay until March.)  He continued to tell me that mom couldn’t move her right side.  I instantly became alarmed and told him not to try to drive home but to take mom to the hospital right away, fearing she had a stroke.  I explained to him how she could have a bleed in her head and he wouldn’t make it home with her.  “Get her to the hospital, NOW”.  At 12:30am he called me to let me know mom had a brain tumor, she needed immediate surgery but refused until her children were there.  Needless to say, I called my sisters (couldn’t get up with my brother!) and at 1:30 in the morning my youngest sister and I headed to Florida, picking up the other sister in North Carolina on the way.

We all got there, mom had her surgery, only to find out it was adenocarcinoma.  Being a nurse, I knew what that meant, three months to live.  I was a mess.  But, because of my nursing training, I was able to take care of her once we got her home.  It was nice to be able to spend the last few months she had together and know what to look for and how to help.

My father came to live with us after trying to stay by his self for a couple of years.  He became ill and ended up in bed.  Between the emphysema, arthritis and general depression, he too was diagnosed with cancer.  Dad’s could have been operated on but he refused.  We had him with us for me to take care of until he too passed away.

Then it was my husbands father, until his passing.  Now, we have my mother-in-law.  She has been so ill, pneumonia, gallbladder, vertigo, arthritis in both knees.  This is a woman who is used to going just about anywhere she wants, when she wants!  It has been so hard on her.  At least I am here to wait on her and she is doing better.

My point is, had I not been placed on disability, I would not be able to be home to take care of everyone.  Even though I haven’t been able to work in a work setting, I have been able to use my nursing to take care of our parents.  And, I can still have time to work on my writing!

The Lords truly gives us what we need, when we need it…NOT when we want it!

So there you have it folk, another window into my life!  Check in tomorrow for another little look!  Before long, you all will know everything there is to know about me!!! (wink, wink)

4 thoughts on “Continuing…Just who is Terri???

  1. And she has taken care of me after two bad accidents and taking care of my children during that time. I couldn’t be more thankful for her, my father inlaw and many many many other family members during with their help thru both of those instances!

    • Paula, I have so much wrong!! Back (rods from L1 – SI) mostly but fibromyalgia, osteoporosis, heart and numerous other things!

Leave a Reply

