Okay folks, it’s November 5, 2012 – Have you missed me?

I know you all think I have fallen off the face of the earth!

You may or may not know that due to having a blog, writing a book and having it published, my long-term disability was terminated.  They think I am working and making money!  They even bought a copy of my book so they had proof! (Thanks, by the way!)  Now, according to my publisher, I have only sold 11 books and 2 e-books.  I really don’t think that’s correct, but I have no way to dispute it.  Any, who ha, I have written another manuscript, and put it in another publishers hands.  “A Passage in the Dark” will hopefully, be published sometime next year.

I have to say, the one thing I have learned through out this adventure is just how wonderful the “writing world” people are to us ‘newbies’.  No where have I ever seen so many great people willing to give us a hand UP!  For instance, I never realize just how important it was to have a twitter, Facebook, or Linkin, account.  I am floored at the amount of people who will follow you and your writings.  What better way to get the word out about ANYTHING!

I don’t think it would matter if you had a product to sell, service for the public, or like me…WRITING, the people associated with these groups would do their best to help out.  Isn’t that the greatest?  It certainly helps me to keep my faith in the people of this world.

You see, I have been accused of always trying to find the good in people, I firmly believe everyone has something about them that stands out.  Some skill or personality trait that makes them special.  Sometimes we have to look to find it, but I just know it’s there!  LOL

Okay, so back to my original story…If it were not for one of my very good friends, Katrina,  I wouldn’t be writing at all.  She came to visit me one time and we talked about her book she was writing and I just mentioned that I had always wanted to write a book.  She pushed and pushed until boom, my first book was written, and published…I started writing in 2009, finally got my book published in 2010, only because she knew someone who knew someone else, who knew someone who might be interested in publishing my ‘baby’.   People have to remember that Rome wasn’t  built-in a day.  It takes a while to go from brain, to hand, to paper, to editor, to publisher.

Not every book gets published by traditional publishers.  Some people self-publish.  Even if/when you do get published, there is still more work to do.  When I started, I thought wow, get the book written, pay the editor, submit the book, get published and that’s it.  Not true.  Marketing still has to be done.  The publishers can’t do it all.  Not every book written ever makes it to the book shelf.  Now, with all the online things going on, the big thing is e-books.  However, there are still those that like the feel of holding that book in their hands.

My whole point is, don’t give up.  If you want to become President, work for it, if you want to be a truck driver…do it, and if you want to write a book….Just do it!

As with any of my posts…THIS IS ONLY MY OPINION.  Please feel free to make a comment…I love hearing from you.  Let other people know where I am, and by all means, set up your own blog….I would be happy to follow you!!!

Thanks to all of my friends, both old and new!!!

5 thoughts on “Okay folks, it’s November 5, 2012 – Have you missed me?

  1. Okay, this is awesome! I’m going to go out there and just do it!! Mostly I am going to finish this NaNo contest and do my job before I fall into bed each day!

  2. LOVE this! So glad I found you, Terri, or that you found me. Either way, it is all good. I couldn’t do Nano – eyes are not letting me do much writing now, bad viral infection – but I am so pleased to find your pages. Your opininon, everything 🙂 Write on!

      • On the mend! No worries. Just have to keep washing them out six times a day and it seems to be working well… so far… lol. Thanks kindly for your concern. Hope to read you again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

