What a beautiful day!

Any day we wake up in the morning, we need to thank our higher power. I happen to believe in God. I know he is with me every day. I wonder many days why I go through some of the things I go through, and I think he isn’t there. When in reality, I know he never leaves me.
Is it a test? If so, I’ve probably failed, miserably. Is it to make me stronger? Hmmm, don’t think that’s working either. Is it to make the doctors think? I really don’t think that’s working. hahaha Who knows? I don’t think any of us know why we have to go through the medical issues we have, or the physical issues, or any problems we may have. I don’t believe we will know until we are supposed to know. Now, will that be in this life? I don’t know. But I do believe that when we are supposed to know, we will. In the mean time, I believe we have to enjoy what we have.

When I say “enjoy what we have”, I don’t necessarily mean material things. I mean friends, family, food, a roof over our head, and things like that. There are so many people out there that don’t have so much as food to eat, a place to sleep, or anyone to turn to. How much trouble would it be for us to give them a sandwich from home or a dollar meal off the menu while getting our own sandwich? I don’t know about you folks but I know I have plenty of clothes that I don’t wear. I keep thinking that one day I’m going to fit in that pair of pants or that jacket that has been in my closet for years. I have extra blankets where I have changed my colors in my bedrooms. What am I saving them for? I can surely give them to someone who needs them more than my closet. I can fill that closet with plenty of other things I’m not going to use!

So many people say, “Well, they can get a job just like the rest of us”. Well, maybe they have tried to get a job. Maybe they lost their job due to downsizing, then lost their home because they couldn’t pay the mortgage. You have to have an address to get a job. If you don’t have a phone, an employer can’t call you. Not everyone that lives on the street chooses to be there. Yes, I know there are those that end up there because of drugs and alcohol but even those people need help to get back on their feet. It still isn’t going to hurt any of us that can help them to do so.

If all of us just try it, you will be surprised at how good it will make you feel. Just doing something little for someone else will make you feel so much better. Just like a smile is contagious, so is helping our fellow-man. Just try it, you may like it.

2 thoughts on “What a beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

